IHI Board of Directors

IHI Board of Directors

Amy Shapiro, MD

Amy Shapiro, MD, is the CEO and co-medical director at the Indiana Hemophilia & Thrombosis Center, Inc. She is also Adjunct Senior Investigator, Blood Center of Wisconsin and Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics, Michigan State University.

A board-certified pediatric hematologist-oncologist, Dr. Shapiro received her medical degree in 1980 from the New York University School of Medicine. She completed her pediatric internship and residency, and pediatric hematology/oncology fellowship at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center. In 1987, she became an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the Indiana University School of Medicine and the Medical Director of the Indiana Hemophilia Comprehensive Center. In 1993, she was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. In July 1998, she co-founded the Indiana Hemophilia and Thrombosis Center (IHTC) with Dr. Anne Greist.

Dr. Shapiro has served on the Medical and Scientific Advisory Council (MASAC) of the National Hemophilia Foundation from April 1997-May 2016 and is active in many local, regional, national, and international medical organizations. She is past Co-Chair on the Board of Directors for the American Thrombosis and Hemostasis Network (ATHN) and has been a member of the International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis since 1991. Dr. Shapiro has served on several of the National Institutes of Health Boards. Currently, Dr. Shapiro is serving on the FDA Blood Products Advisory Committee. In 1997, she was honored with the “Tony and Mary Hulman Health Achievement Award” and in 1998 with the “W. George Pinnell Award” for Outstanding Service from Indiana University. She was named “Physician of the Year” in 2001 by the National Hemophilia Foundation (NHF) and was honored with the Leadership in Research Award from NHF in 2017. Dr. Shapiro received the “Distinguished Hoosier Award” in 2009 from the State of Indiana, presented to her by Governor Mitch Daniels. She has also authored or co-authored over 120 articles and abstracts and eight textbook chapters.

In addition to serving as board member for Innovative Hematology, Dr. Shapiro serves as a member of the Innovative Hematology Executive Committee.